FANDOM


Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{See also|Codex entry: The Right of Annulment}}
 
{{See also|Codex entry: The Right of Annulment}}
   
'''The Right of Annulment''' is the right to purge a [[Circle of Magi]] entirely by killing all the mages if the Circle is ruled irredeemable. [[Divine]] Galatea first granted it to all the [[Grand Cleric]]s of the [[Chantry]] in 2:83 [[Ages#Glory|Glory]]. By the beginning of the [[Fifth Blight]] the right has been invoked 17 times. Three more Circles were annulled between 8:30 and 8:40 [[Ages#Dragon|Dragon]].
+
'''The Right of Annulment''' is the right to purge a [[Circle of Magi]] entirely by killing all the mages if the Circle is ruled irredeemable. [[Divine]] Galatea first granted it to all the [[Grand Cleric]]s of the [[Chantry]] in 2:83 [[Ages#Glory|Glory]]. However, if there is no Grand Cleric and no immediate successor in evidence, a Knight-Commander of the [[Templar Order|templars]] has legal authority to use the right. <ref> David Gaider's [http://social.bioware.com/forum/1/topic/304/index/6981321&lf=8 Forum post]</ref>
  +
  +
By the beginning of the [[Fifth Blight]] the right has been invoked 17 times. Three more Circles were annulled between 8:30 and 8:40 [[Ages#Dragon|Dragon]].
   
 
'''Known Annulments:'''
 
'''Known Annulments:'''
Line 9: Line 9:
 
*8:37 Dragon: The Circle of Magi in [[Kirkwall]] (''see also'' [[the Last Straw]] ''and'' [[Battle of Kirkwall (9:37 Dragon)|the Battle of Kirkwall]])
 
*8:37 Dragon: The Circle of Magi in [[Kirkwall]] (''see also'' [[the Last Straw]] ''and'' [[Battle of Kirkwall (9:37 Dragon)|the Battle of Kirkwall]])
 
*8:38-8:39 Dragon: The Cicle of Magi in Dairsmuid, [[Rivain]] (''see also'' [[Dragon Age: Asunder]])
 
*8:38-8:39 Dragon: The Cicle of Magi in Dairsmuid, [[Rivain]] (''see also'' [[Dragon Age: Asunder]])
  +
  +
== References ==
  +
<references/>
   
 
{{Magic}}
 
{{Magic}}

Revision as of 13:05, February 6, 2012

See also: Codex entry: The Right of Annulment

The Right of Annulment is the right to purge a Circle of Magi entirely by killing all the mages if the Circle is ruled irredeemable. Divine Galatea first granted it to all the Grand Clerics of the Chantry in 2:83 Glory. However, if there is no Grand Cleric and no immediate successor in evidence, a Knight-Commander of the templars has legal authority to use the right. [1]

By the beginning of the Fifth Blight the right has been invoked 17 times. Three more Circles were annulled between 8:30 and 8:40 Dragon.

Known Annulments:

  • 2:83 Glory: The Circle of Magi in Nevarra

References

  1. David Gaider's Forum post
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.